Department of Physics and

Department of Physics and Astrophysics

Astrophysics / July 14, 2019

The Department of Physics and Astrophysics is located in Witmer Hall at The University of North Dakota. The department offers excellent academic opportunities for both undergraduate (B.S.) and graduate (M.S. and Ph.D) study in physics and astrophysics. Undergraduate students have the option specializing in one of four tracks; Applied physics, Astrophysics, Computers in Physics, and Materials Science, or earning a traditional physics degree.

The research interests of the faculty lie in the general areas of astrophysics and condensed matter physics. Both graduate and undergraduate research/teaching assistantships, various scholarships, and other forms of financial assistance are available to interested students.

The Department of Physics and Astrophysics consists of 9 regular faculty and 10 adjunct, emeritus, or non-regular faculty members. The enrollment per semester is approximately 49 undergraduate students and 12 graduate students. Classes for both physics and astrophysics undergraduate and graduate students are generally small and provide ample opportunity for informal contact between students and faculty. In addition, each semester the Physics and Astrophysics Faculty teaches introductory level physics and astrophysics classes to over 500 non-physics majors. The faculty have a strong commitment to teaching as well as research. There is a deep concern for preparing students for existing jobs in physics/astrophysics and related disciplines.